Citizen Bravo, Raymond MacDonald and Friends

Return To Y’Hup: The World of Ivor Cutler 

Released 24 January 2020                  

Chemikal Underground Records

Listen here:


1. Here’s A Health For Simon

2. Latitude and Longitude (with Phyllis King) 

3. Size Nine And A Half (with Emma Pollock)

4. Mary’s A Cow (with Malcolm Benzie)

5. Instance The Yam (with Alex Kapranos)

6. Pickle Your Knees (with Karine Polwart)

7. Gravity Begins At Home (with Rick Redbeard)

8. A Cowpuncher And A Bird (with Zoe Graham)

9. Boo Boo Bird (with Heather Leigh)

10. Vitamin P (with Duglas T. Stewart)

11. Green Rain (with Sarah Hayes)

12. A Tooth Song (with Adam Stafford)

13. Sh Chi (with Stuart Murdoch)

14. Women Of The World (with Tracyanne Campbell)

15. A Real Man (with James Yorkston)

16. Yellow Fly (with Kris Drever)

17. Shoplifters (with Future Pilot AKA and Stranded Astronaut)

18. The Path (with Stuart Braithwaite)

19. Muscular Tree (with Megan Airlie)

20. Who Tore Your Trousers James? (with Rachel Sermanni and Chris Thomson)

21. I Got No Common Sense

22. When I Stand On An Open Cart (with Kapil Seshasayee)

23. I Believe In Bugs (with Jo Mango)

24. Good Morning! How Are You? Shut Up! (with Pictish Trail)

25. Out Of Decency (with Robert Wyatt)

26. Beautiful Cosmos (with Anna Miles)


All songs written by Ivor Cutler. Words for “Latitude and Longitude”, “Instance The Yam” and “Vitamin P” adapted from the sleeve notes to the Ivor Cutler of Y’Hup EP (1959) and the Get Away From the Wall EP (1961). The poem “A Real Man” appears in Mr Cutler’s book South American Bookworms (1999). Engineered by Andy Monaghan at 312 and Matt Brennan at House of Bravo in Glasgow, Scotland, unless otherwise noted in sleeve. Produced by Malcolm Benzie and Andy Monaghan. Mixed by Andy Monaghan. Mastered by Paul Gallagher. Ink and gouache illustrations by Anna Miles. Graphic design and layout by Bertrand Mougel. Thanks to Creative Scotland for supporting this project.

Build A Thing Of Beauty 

Released 5 April 2019                    

Chemikal Underground Records

Listen here:


1. Humans Of Earth

2. The Answer Is Yes

3. Build A Thing Of Beauty

4. Lesson Number One

5. Invincible Kids On Prom Night

6. Nineteenth Century

7. The Mystery Of History

8. I Will Love You When You’re Dead

9. Limbs And Bones

10. Stuck Inside Of Mobile Phone

11. Have A Nice Time


Produced and mixed by Andy Monaghan. Additional engineering by Matt Brennan and Gavin Thomson. Mastered by Paul Gallagher. All music written, played, and sung by Matt apart from: bass guitar and occasional studio wizardry by Andy Monaghan. Additional guitar on tracks 6, 8, and 9 and fiddle on track 10 by Malcolm Benzie. Backup vocals on tracks 3, 5, 6, and 8 by Anna Miles. Strings on tracks 1 and 6 by Pete Harvey and the Pumpkinseeds. Trumpet on tracks 6 and 8 by Yati Durant. Saxophone on tracks 9 and 10 by Raymond MacDonald. Ian MacKaye speech sample on “Have A Nice Time” used with kind permission from Dischord Records. Cover photo by Graeme O'Hara. Cover design by Bertrand Mougel. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial 4.0 International License and is attributed to Matt Brennan. The artist’s share of any album purchases or donations will be donated to Creative Carbon Scotland as a registered charity. Thanks to the Arts and Humanities Research Council for supporting this project.